Please login or register.

TinyPortal - simple content managment for SMF

News: “Flying is like good music: it elevates the spirit and it's an exhilarating freedom. It's not a thrill thing or an adrenaline rush; it's engaging in a process that takes focus and commitment." - Harrison Ford

Author Topic: Server migration coming 5/26  (Read 555 times)

davidh

• Administrator
  • Wishing I was out there flying instead of surfing.

Server migration coming 5/26
« on: May 21, 2016, 09:09:27 PM »
The service that hosts the forum will be moving things around on Thursday 5/26, migrating the forum to a new server.  If all goes well, there should only be a few minutes of downtime or glitchyness.  If all does not go well, the forum might be offline for a few hours (I hope it's not longer than than).

Unfortunately, they can't provide a more specific time window for when the cut-over will take place.  Complicating things, my current work project at my day job is currently in crunch mode, so I have little personal bandwidth to tend to things.  If bad stuff happens, things might be offline or wonky for a day or two.  If that happens, I will try to tend to things over the weekend of 5/28-5/29.  I'm keeping my fingers crossed and hoping nothing goes sideways with the server migration (but will make a full backup on Wednesday just to cover all bases).

Bottom line: if the lights go out on Thursday, I'll try and fix it ASAP, but that might be a day or two.  Thanks for your patience.
David Herman
N6170T - 1965 Cessna 150E
Boeing Field, Seattle, WA

hotrod180

• Cessna Skywagon-- accept no substitutes!

Re: Server migration coming 5/26
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2016, 09:59:12 PM »
Thank you for your work maintaining this website for the rest of us to enjoy.

Al Gilson

• Global Moderator
  • "Go Eagles!" (I'm on the left)
    • Hangar 49

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2016, 09:37:40 AM »